MVRC Research Collaborations

The collaborating institutes include, but are not limited to:

  • Japan (Ehime University, Nagasaki University and Osaka University)
  • Republic of Korea (Korean National Institute of Health and Kangwon National University School of Medicine)
  • USA (University of South Florida, University of California at Irvine, Pennsylvania State University, John Hopkins University, Tulane University, Seattle Biological Research Institute, Harvard University, NIAID/NIH)
  • Spain (Barcelona Center for International Health Research (CRESIB))
  • Australia (Walter & Eliza Hall Institute (WEHI))
  • People's Republic of China (Jiangsu Institute of Parasitic Diseases)
  • Thailand (Mahidol University faculties of Science, Medicine, Medical Technology, and Tropical Medicine)
Current Collaboration Activities

In collaboration with, and funding from, various international institutes, such as NIH, US DoD, US NIAID, and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the MVRC continues to study malaria transmission and biology of transmission stages (gametocytes and sporogonic stages) working to support vaccine and new drug development.

The Center is also involved with the following working groups:

  • Steering Committee for Malaria Eradication Scientific Alliance (MESA)
  • Training Center and Scientific member for Asia Pacific Malaria Elimination Network (APMEN)
  • Transmission Blocking Vaccine Working Group
  • University of South Florida, USA: John Adams, PhD.
  • Nagasaki University, Japan: Osamu Kaneko, MD, PhD.
  • Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Australia: Louis Schofield, PhD.
  • Centre de Recerca de Salut Internacional de Barcelona (CRESIB), Spain: Ivo Mueller, PhD
  • Ehime University, Japan: Takafumi Tsuboi, MD, PhD.
  • Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Dept. of Molecular Microbiology & Immunology, Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute, USA: Rhoel R. Dinglasan, PhD, Marcelo Jacob Lorena, PhD.
  • Department of Entomology, Pennsylvania State University, USA: Liwang Cui, PhD
  • University of California, Irvine, USA: Guiyun Yan, PhD
  • Department of Medical Environmental Biology and Tropical Medicine, Kangwon National University School of Medicine, Korea: Han, Eun Taek, Ph.D.
  • Jiangsu Institute of Parasitic Disease, Wuxi, PR of China: Gao Qi, PhD
  • Entomology Department, Faculty of Tropical Medicine, Mahidol University: Patchara Sriwichai, PhD.
  • Department of Molecular Tropical Medicine and Genetics, Faculty of Tropical Medicine, Mahidol University: Supachai Topanurak, PhD.
  • Microbiology Department, Faculty of Science, Mahidol University: Marisa Ponpuak, PhD, Sureemas Buates, PhD.
  • Department of Clinical Microbiology and Applied Technology, Faculty of Medical Technology, Mahidol University: Patchanee Chootong, Ph.D.
  • Department of Molecular Tropical Medicine and Genetics, Faculty of Tropical Medicine, Mahidol University: Supachai Topanurak, PhD. , Wang Nguitragool, Ph.D.
  • School of Life Science, Peking University, P.R. China: Hongkui Deng,Ph.D.