

Prof. Dr. Kevin C. Kain, MD, FRCPC

Announcement of the Sornchai Looareesuwan Medal Winner 2015

The Sornchai Looareesuwan Medal Committee, chaired by Prof. Dr. Yaowalark Sukthana, convened on 4th September 2015 to review the list of nominations for the Sornchai Looareesuwan Medal 2015, comprising 11 nominees from 11 international institutions.

This year, the Sornchai Looareesuwan Medal has been awarded to Prof. Dr. Kevin C. Kain, MD, FRCPC, Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto, Canada; Director, McLaughlin-Rotman Centre for Global Health; Canada Research Chair in Molecular Parasitology; and Director of the Center for Travel and Tropical Medicine at the Toronto General Hospital, for his outstanding achievements in experimental and clinical malaria, ranging from diagnostics and biomarker discovery to the pathophysiology of severe malaria, and for his great contribution to the malaria community internationally. Dr. Kain has built a worldwide reputation as a leading researcher in the development of effective therapeutic interventions and introducing global molecular surveillance systems for drug-resistant malaria.

Our sincere congratulations to the winner of the Sornchai Looareesuwan Medal, 2015,

Professor Kevin C. Kain