The countries of the Mekong region

The six nations, in whole or in part that form this geographical region are defined as Mekong countries because they share some part of the waters of the great Mekong river. The countries are:

Kingdom of Cambodia [Cambodia]
People's Republic of China Yunnan Province [China/Yunnan]
Lao People's Democratic Republic [Lao PDR]
Union of Myanmar [Myanmar]
Kingdom of Thailand [Thailand]
Socialist Republic of Viet Nam [Viet Nam]

Their geographical relationship is shown in the regional map (Figure 1). In the case of China, Yunnan Province is the only part of this country that is formally classified as part of the Greater Mekong subregion (used interchangeably here with Mekong region). In order to focus on the formal Mekong region, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous region and Hainan Province, included in the first Mekong Malaria monograph, have been omitted from Mekong Malaria II, although these areas and neighboring countries of Southeast Asia are pertinent to the regional malaria profile, as indicated later in the volume.

Net figures are given for total population numbers in 2001 based on official estimates from UN agencies and/or from the country concerned. Because of variability in approximation methods year to year differences may not always be consistent as adjustments may be made irregularly. These net national figures underscore the diversity of population size relative to geographical area. The regional map was generated by integrating national maps.

