Tropical Medicine Alumni Association (TMAA)

Establishment of TMAA

The Tropical Medicine Alumni Association (TMAA) was first established as the TropMed Alumni Club in 1989, with Professor Preecha Charoenlarp as the Founding President, Professor Chaisin Viravan as the Vice-president, and Associate Professor Supranee Chaengbumrung as the Secretary of the Club. The Thai National Council for Culture granted permission for the establishment of the Tropical Medicine Alumni Association on 9th April 1992.


The main objectives of the Association are: first to be the center between members; second to provide information in the field of tropical medicine and related topics; third to organize an annual meeting of its members.

Committee members

The activities of the Association are overseen by 8 to 15 committee members, who serve a 2-year term. During the period 1991-1993, the second President of the Association was Dr. Pongsak Vidayakorn and he was re-elected as the President for a second term, from 1993 to 1995. Rear Admiral Sangob Chaloryoo is the third President (1995-2008). Professor Emeritus Arunee Subcharoen is the present president (2008-present). Selection of the Most Outstanding Alumni In the year 2000, when the Faculty of Tropical Medicine, Mahidol University celebrated its 4Cfh anniversary, the Tropical Medicine Alumni Association joined the Faculty of Tropical Medicine ill hosting the 1st TROPMED Alumni Reunion Party and awarded plaques of "The Most-Outstanding Alumni" to 7 overseas and Thai graduates who have outstanding qualities, who are virtuous and who have become famous for the Faculty of Tropical Medicine. Since 2012,28 outstanding alumni have been awarded comprising 16 Thai and 12 Overseas graduates.