About TropMed
The Faculty of Tropical Medicine was co-founded by Prof. Chamlong Harinasuta and Prof. Khunying Tranakchit Harinasuta in 1960 as one of the faculties of the University of Medical Sciences (presently Mahidol University).  Its three main tasks include teaching, research for advanced knowledge in medical sciences, and medical services, with the emphasis on tropical diseases.

At the beginning, there were five departments sharing offices with the Faculty of Medical Technology (in the same compound with the Faculty of Medicine Siriraj Hospital).  The objective of the establishment was to teach Thai medical doctors in the Diploma in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (D.T.M. & H.).  The Faculty was relocated to its present location in 1961, the same time as the establishment of the Hospital for Tropical Diseases with 20 beds.  At present, the Faculty comprises an Office of the Dean, a 250-bed hospital and 10 departments (with the dissolution of the Department of Tropical Radioisotopes in 2009), namely
Department of Clinical Tropical Medicine
Department of Helminthology
Department of Medical Entomology
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Department of Protozoology
Department of Social and Environmental Medicine
Department of Tropical Hygiene
Department of Tropical Nutrition and Food Science
Department of Tropical Pathology
Department of Tropical Pediatrics
Department of Molecular Tropical Medicine and Genetics
Last update: 4 July 2019
MU Home   |  TropMed Home   |  Web Mail   |  Intranet TM   |  Site Map   |  Web Link   |  Contact us & Map   |   Facebook
Copyright © 2008 Faculty of Tropical Medicine, Mahidol University. All rights reserved.
Webmaster: tmwww@mahidol.ac.th