PRINCE MAHIDOL AWARD, 2003

Natth Bhamarapravati

Center for Vaccine Development, Mahidol University at Salaya, Nakhon Pathom, Thailand

The Award for the year 2003, of Prince Mahidol Award Foundation goes to two recipients. The award consists of US\$ 50,000 for each awardees. The first one is 'the China Cooperative Research Group on Qinghaosu and its Derivatives as antimalarials'. This Cooperative Research Group is supported by China Academy of Science and China Academy of Traditional Chinese Medicine. The second award goes to Dr Herbert L Needleman, Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatric, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, USA, for his work on low level of lead exposure and the development of children. Both have submitted papers to be published in this journal. The International Award Committee, which has the task of selecting the candidates and submitted their names to the Board of Trustee for approval, consist of Dr Joshua Lederberg (Nobel laureate), Dr Nevin S Scrimshaw, Dr DA Henderson, Dr AO Lucas, Dr Gustav Nossal, Dr Baruch S Blumberg (Nobel laureate), Dr Visith Sitprija, Dr Aree Valyasevi, Dr Kraisid Tantisirin, Dr Vicharn Panich, and Dr Natth Bhamarapraviti. We have received 42 nomination forms from 25 countries.

Vol 35 No. 2 June 2004 249