About us

Department of Tropical Pathology is one of the eleventh departments of the Faculty of Tropical Medicine, responsible for teaching, research and academic services. The department comprises 3 units: Diagnostic Pathology Unit, Electron Microscopy Unit and Tissue Culture and Immunocytochemistry Unit.

Training courses on tropical pathology, electron microscopy and histopathology are provided periodically upon request.

Research projects focus on histopathology, immunohistochemistry and ultrastructural studies of tropical diseases, especially malaria and other parasitic and infectious diseases.

Research highlight : For the first time we have visualized and measured sequestration in vivo, showing that, sequestration of parasitized erythrocytes in the microvasculature of vital organs is the central pathological feature of severe falciparum malaria.

The Department of Tropical Pathology was originally established as a Pathology Unit under the Department of Tropical Medicine and Hospital for Tropical Diseases, in 1968. During that time Dr. Mario Riganti acted as Head of the Unit. In 1989, it became the Department of Tropical Pathology, and Assoc. Prof. Riganti was the first Head of Department, from 1989-1994. The Department currently undertakes research, education and training, and provides medico-scientific services, in the field of tropical pathology.

The Department is composed of 3 units: the Diagnostic Pathology Unit, the Electron Microscopy Unit, and the Tissue Culture and Immunocytochemistry Unit.